31
Jan
10

Jake’s Passion!

Let me start by saying – I’m sorry to all of you who don’t live in Palm Springs at the moment! Of course I won’t be apologizing this summer when it’s 115f – but I will be writing this post while floating in the pool! Well, maybe not writing it, but at least thinking about what I need to write… maybe I’ll call it poolside chatter… anyway I digress.

I’m sitting at the kitchen bar watching a HUGE pot of slow cooking spaghetti sauce bubbling away on the stove. We started the pot around 10AM, and hope to enjoy it tonight after it’s had sufficient time to evolve into slow cooked harmony! This glorious pot of comfort is the result of my early cooking endeavors. It was the first serious thing I cooked some 25 years ago after interviewing every Italian cook I knew. I spent about a month researching techniques, and different philosophies on the perfect slow cooked sauce – hot sausage, sweet sausage, carrots for added sweetness, etc. If you want to know more let me know, because that’s not what today’s post is about!

Today is about Jake’s Passion! All 750ml of Jake’s Passion. Well maybe not exactly 750ml, but almost (also have to allow room for ice). You see, I have these huge, big-bowled wine glasses that will hold an entire bottle of wine in one glass! Yes, that amounts to 750ml in one glass. Needless to say, I generally don’t use these glasses for wine, but rather, for bread sticks, crudites, etc. That is, until now. As I write this post, (along with watching my glorious pot of slow-cooking sauce) I’m enjoying a tall glass of Jake’s Passion in my 750ml glass! It’s sitting at arm’s reach as I type, in all it’s glorious layered colors, with little drops of cold condensation sliding down the outside of the glass.  So, to brighten up your day (assuming you need it – and if you’re weathering the severe winter storms in the south-east, YOU do!!!) I’m including the recipe for this marvelous concoction created by my dear Jake!

Jake’s Passion

Ingredients:

  • Equal parts Amaretto, Southern Comfort, Vodka and Orange Juice.
  • Splash of Rose’s Grenadine
  • Maraschino Cherries

Method:

Mix Amaretto, Southern Comfort, Vodka, and OJ, pour over ice, add Rose’s Grenadine – this will settle on the bottom and create beautiful color layers to the drink. Finish with Maraschino Cherries.

Oh, gotta go, the sauce needs stirring!!!

PS: My glass is almost empty, and I’m feel light and giddy, it must be A-Ha playing on the stereo!!!

PSS: Sorry for the multiple run-on sentences, I can’t help myself!

6 Responses to “Jake’s Passion!”


  1. 2 Rob Lee
    February 1, 2010 at 3:32 pm

    That might be the only drink in the world to make a Long Island Tea cower in fear. How about some comfort food ideas? Especially for those of us out here in the frozen regions of the country.

  2. 3 Patrick Bartlett
    February 2, 2010 at 3:55 pm

    LOL – The Long Island Tea was my cocktail of choice for years… not sure when I stopped drinking them… perhaps it’s time for a revival! I’ll work on those comfort food ideas for you!

  3. 4 Kevin
    February 3, 2010 at 5:09 pm

    Lord have mercy! That looks like delicious cocktail. Perhaps we’ll have to recreate it at K&B Farms this weekend. I don’t believe I’ve ever actually purchased Southern Comfort. NASCAR here I come!


Leave a Reply

Patrick Bartlett


A conversation about food, wine, and the art of living well!

Categories

January 2010
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Feb »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Archives


