09
Jan
10

Asparagus, oysters, and wine… OH MY!

I thought it would be fun to find good foodie quotes and interact with them occasionally. So, let’s play a little. I’ve copied the following quotation – and for the record, I agree totally, although asparagus generally doesn’t work well with wine (excluding a French Sancerre with cat pee). I’d love it if you’d simply omit the oysters and aparagus and add your two favorites! You can’t remove wine, because that would be sacrilegious! Can’t wait to see your comments!

You needn’t tell me that a man [or woman] who doesn’t love oysters and asparagus and good wines has got a soul, or a stomach either. He’s [she’s] simply got the instinct for being unhappy highly developed.

~Hector Hugh Munro~

Happy Sunday and happy eating to you all!

Patrick

9 Responses to “Asparagus, oysters, and wine… OH MY!”


  1. 1 Brian Reid
    January 10, 2010 at 6:16 pm

    You needn’t tell me that a man [or woman] who doesn’t love champagne and port and good wines has got a soul, or a stomach either. He’s [she’s] simply got the instinct for being unhappy highly developed.

  2. 2 Patrick Bartlett
    January 10, 2010 at 6:32 pm

    Yes!!! It’s all about the booze for my dear and (on of my best) friends Brian… but you love good food too, I KNOW it based on our years of eating together!!!

    • 3 Brian Reid
      January 11, 2010 at 8:08 am

      Well, if you want to go for the foods that I can’t resist, it would have to be:

      You needn’t tell me that a man [or woman] who doesn’t love cheese and fresh-baked bread and good wines has got a soul, or a stomach either. He’s [she’s] simply got the instinct for being unhappy highly developed.

  3. 5 Kevin
    January 11, 2010 at 11:29 am

    I can do without the oysters, but…

    You needn’t tell me that a man [or woman] who doesn’t love pomegranates and stroganoff and fruity cocktails has got a soul, or a stomach either. He’s [she’s] simply got the instinct for being unhappy highly developed.

    I like a whole lot of other foods and beverages (except mayo, fishy fish, organs, and whisky), but these are the items I’m craving at the moment. Especially now that pomegranates are out of season already. :-(

    • 6 Patrick Bartlett
      January 11, 2010 at 12:40 pm

      And imagine a stroganoff made with pomegranates in the sauce! Let me know if you try it! YUM! I LOVE POMEGRANATES! Use them all fall long, in salads, as garnishes, sorbets, infusing vodka, the list goes on and on!

      They grew everywhere when I was a county boy growing up in a rural southern Cal area. I used to ride my horse, stop and pick them, and eat them while riding, you can imagine the sticky mess I was by the time I got home!

  4. 7 Kevin
    January 11, 2010 at 12:58 pm

    Sounds like heaven to me! I wish they could ripen up here in the NW — it just doesn’t get got enough this side of the mountains. But, has jake mentioned that we’re able to grow green table grapes here at K&B Farms (Imverness variety)? They’re small but scrumptious, and the vines are growing around our patio area now.

    I think you might have to take on the pomegranate stroganoff challenge! Maybe we’ll get some more stroganoff ideas in St. Petersburg this summer.

    • 8 Patrick Bartlett
      January 11, 2010 at 2:51 pm

      I think I can still get pomegranates at the local market, I may try it! Did an event recently for a client, we did pomegranate glazed chicken kabobs! It was still a relatively obscure fruit just a few years ago, and now it’s every where!


Leave a Reply

Patrick Bartlett


A conversation about food, wine, and the art of living well!

Categories

January 2010
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Feb »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Archives


